Original topic:

Tones of the Night #withGalaxy

(Topic created on: 01-11-2020 10:26 PM)
ZMAHD
Options
Galaxy Gallery

Tones of the Night...

As a novice photographer, I have always been anxious to try Night Photography; last year, I tried it for the first time and yielded decent results. This is my progression in the process!

The Basics

This picture was taken at Dundas Square right in front of the Eaton's Centre, I aimed to make this image my basis for progression; this was captured with the S9+ with Pro Mode set to auto. My usual edits were added to this image on Lightroom Mobile on the Tab S3.

IMG_3782-1.JPG

Light in Darkness

This image of the amazing Toronto Sign in Nathan Philips Square was taken around 7 PM in early January and I specifically chose to share this image because of its complexion! Bright lights at night are really hard to capture especially due to the harsh contrast between the night's darkness relative to the light source. From a technical standpoint, smartphone cameras have really small sensors that limit the amount of light into the sensor, this can create a lot of noise and generally an unpleasant photo. Some ways photographers use to combat or utilize this is by using the surrounding objects around the subject. The vibrancy of the Toronto Sign makes for incredible silhouettes! The people walking by have a soft glow and since Pro Mode is able to adjust the exposure manually, limiting that light creates a really sharp image! Reflections are best utilized at night due to that sharp light contrast, and here, the wet pavement as well as the frozen water along with the glow of the Toronto Sign not only helps elevate the photo but also adds another layer of complexity with the organic colour bleeding!

IMG_3796.JPG

Long Exposures!