Original topic:

How to Reset Samsung Galaxy S10, - Hard Reset & Soft Reset

(Topic created on: 07-07-2019 07:04 AM)
Cassidy
Expert Level 5
Options
Galaxy S
Hi, i saw this on Youtube and it explain the difference between a hard reset or a soft reset (Factory Settings)

I hope this guidelines can help you guys to solve some of your Samsung S10 problems.
0 Likes
5 Comments
Galaxy S
I'm "old school" - I've always used the hw buttons to Boot into Recovery 🐧
0 Likes
Cassidy
Expert Level 5
Galaxy S
Shaggy...what is the right way to do it finally ?
0 Likes
Galaxy S
@Cassidy - I don't think that there's necessarily a "right" way - But I've been Flashing Custom Roms for the last 10 years (until locked bootloaders) or so & I got into the habit of using a Custom Recovery to Factory Reset & Wipe Cache - Which is something that you do fairly regularly - Especially when you're testing Roms for Devs - Sometimes even multiple times in a single day... I just prefer seeing the Factory Reset actually taking place - Which you can't see if you have do it from Settings - My 2 cents 🙂🕊
0 Likes
Vic20
Active Level 10
Galaxy S
I would think doing it through the recovery console would be better and 'cleaner' as it works outside the OS partition? One would be going into the recovery partition to do the factory reset of the main OS partition. If doing it in settings, I would imagine it's not as thorough or 'clean' as it's working within the main OS partition itself. It can't do a clean partition wipe as its still working inside the main partition itself. I could be wrong on this thinking though?
0 Likes
Galaxy S