Original topic:

screen issues after latest download

(Topic created on: 03-18-2020 11:45 AM)
dave777
Active Level 1
Options
Galaxy S

Hello, I'm new to this, but would appreciate any help if possible. 

I did the latest upgrade (March 11th) I'm now seeing (intermittently) the lower 1/4 of my screen is going partially grey, and at times competely black. If i try to read a text the top half is fine but the lower half is grey and hard to read and has a slight flicker to it. . If I increase my screen brightness then the bottom half becomes black and you can't read anything.  it also happens with emails, contacts, etc. even the home screen will show across the lower screen. . Have tried resetting my phone. haven't loaded any new apps or played with any settings prior to this. It will go away for a bit after restarting or powering down my phone, but will eventually come back.  It is interment, but when it was doing it, I restarted the phone in safe mode and it still did it. So I don't believe it is tied to an app. The phone is about 1 1/2 old. 

I hope I did this right. 

Thanks

0 Likes
16 Comments
mytech
Expert Level 3
Galaxy S
What device you have? Probably doesn't really matter but still 🤷‍♂️
By resetting phone do you mean factory reset or just restart?
Did you do this?
https://r1.community.samsung.com/t5/Others/Wipe-cache-partition-for-all-devices/td-p/3156063
0 Likes
dave777
Active Level 1
Galaxy S

My model number is SM-G930W8, I believe it is a Samsung S7 (not an edge has no fancy sides on it). 

I did just a restart and power off. I don't want to loose all my data by doing a factory restart. I looked at the link and I see Samsung S7 "not found" no not sure what to do with that. 

**Update now**  the lower 1/3 of my screen is black. the touch portion still works but I can't see my lower set of icons on any soft keys. Also some of the link you showed was in french. Sorry I'm new to all of this. and thanks for the reply.

0 Likes
mytech
Expert Level 3
Galaxy S