Resolved! Solved

Original topic:

Heartrate has large gaps during exercise with Samsung Health on Galaxy Watch 3

(Topic created on: 09-13-2021 12:49 PM)
raywoodson
Active Level 1
Options
Samsung Health

This is my second Watch 3. The first one had many sensors fail so it was replaced. Now I can't get a consistent Heartrate trace during exercise (walking). I've been using trackers for 5 years Garmin HR+, Gear S3 Frontier (3 different watches)  and Galaxy Watch 3 (on my second one). The reliability of the heartrate  sensor on the W3 is abysmal. I've done everything suggested on the Samsung support site and in the various forums.  Permissions, off/on, switch to manual/back to continuous, location, etc. It seems to work for a while after I do some magical combination of the suggestions, but soon returns to its unreliable self. 

I'd like to know if there is a definitive set (series/sequence) of steps to correct this or do I need to replace this watch a third time (like I did with the Gear S3)? 

I sincerely thank you in advance for any help/suggestions.

7 Comments
Solution
jokkir
Active Level 6
Samsung Health
I found that on my Active 2 it needs to have a pretty snug fit for it to reliably read my heart rate without gaps (or at least minimize it). Like it doesn't have to be really tight but tight enough without it moving too much when adjusting arm position.

I had a similar annoyance when I go biking though that seemed to have fixed it.
raywoodson
Active Level 1
Samsung Health

Thanks for your reply.  It's tight. I've experimented with moving, tightening, loosening to no avail.

0 Likes
Georgine
Options
Samsung Health

Hi Raywoodson, There are a few instructions to be followed when you wear a watch. Could you confirm if you have followed all the below instructions?

The accuracy of the optical heart rate sensor may be diminished depending on measurement conditions and surroundings.

Use the HR feature only for measuring your heart rate.